Darfield is located on the Canterbury Plains of the South Island of New Zealand, 40 km west of the city of Christchurch. It is a town of just over 2000 residents at the centre of a large agricultural district. Darfield is a 30-minute drive to an international airport, 45 minutes to the Mount Hutt skifield and 75 minutes to Arthur’s Pass National Park.

Darfield High School is a co-educational Year 7 to Year 13 High School. The school was established as a secondary school in 1951 and a Form One to Form Seven school in 1978. It is the only secondary school in the area, bounded by the Waimakariri River in the north, the Rakaia River in the south, Christchurch in the east, and the Southern Alps in the west. The school serves a rural community of small towns and the neighbouring countryside. Most students from the contributing primary schools – Darfield, Glentunnel, Greendale, Hororata, Kirwee, Sheffield, Springfield, West Melton and Windwhistle – enrol at Darfield High School in Year 7.


“At Darfield High School, we are large enough to be able to offer a wide range of academic, cultural and sporting opportunities, but small enough to know our students well. We are proud of the achievements of our students and the role we are able to play in supporting their success.”

 James Morris—Principal