When a student begins at Darfield High School, they become a member of one of the four Houses. Each House is run by a Staff Leader and a House Leader, a Year 13 student who liaises with the students. The House system has been re-introduced to encourage a positive atmosphere at Darfield High School and to enhance participation in events and relationships among students.

Students participate in various events (see House points), covering sporting, cultural and academic activities, to ensure that everyone has an opportunity to contribute. Placing in specific events and participation in events are both rewarded, provided that students are honouring the spirit of the event.


Colour: Blue
Symbol: Blue Sky
Association: Air
Student Co-Leader: Campbell Barrett
Student Co-Leader: Stephanie McKenzie
Staff Leader: Mrs Rangi
Deputy: Miss Petersen


Colour: Yellow/Gold
Symbol: Rising Sun
Association: Fire
Student Co-Leader: Jessica Galletly
Student Co-Leader: Kate Caldwell
Staff Leader: Mrs Wilson


Colour: Red
Symbol: Mountain
Association: Earth
Student Co-Leader: Sophie Palmer
Student Co-Leader: Annalise Selfe
Staff Leader: Mrs Juhel
Deputy: Mr Jermyn


Colour: Green
Symbol: River
Association: Water
Student Co-Leader: Emily McCallum
Student Co-Leader: Brie Edwards
Staff Leader: Ms Mallinder

House Mufti Day
House Singing
House Singing